Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .NET Migration

Default .NET Migration

My company would like to migrate development from ASP to .NET. So us developers are supposed to prepare a document outlining the advantages, drawbacks, migration conciderations, etc. As it stands, I think it is a agood move only for the fact that we will be leaving ASP behind. I dont like ASP, I dont like developing in ASP. However, I'm not particularly fond of MS. I've heard a whole deal of good things about .NET. But I'm still skeptical. MS has a history of destroying things that start out good. I think moving to the Java platform would be a nicer solution. Everyone here is going to have to be trained in .NEt which is nothing like what we use now. So moving to either would be a big change in any case. I'll talk to my manager about that and figure out why they want .NET.

But my complaints aside, what I'm interested in is how to create a document to present to the department manager. I have no experience in this regard. And have any of you actually been through a migration process? Your input would be welcome. Additionally, how could I sell Java over .NET?
    The answer you seek is *+5,2*3,2
    Check out my blog: http://rants.andreobrown.com

Default Re: .NET Migration

The .Net frame work very good from what i'm reading, it was a re-think on the entire development approach that was previously taken by micro-soft, i dont know that much about ASP.NET but from the lil reaseach i was doing the other day, it seems it has some cool features.