Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Jamaican Education system on a real

Question Jamaican Education system on a real

I want total honesty here.

Does anyone in this forum have any faith in our system?

I was lucky enough to land a job in the technical field and i did it by volunteering. I have seen too many leave qualified and nothing yet anyone with an overseas degree has the advantage.

I am thinking about leaving for my degree.Give some feedback.

one of my problems is they fail to change the educational material as the world changes to prepare our graduates better.

change literature books, foreign languages, subjects, focus etc as the world trend dictates

I did my degree at UTech but when compared with somebody that did a degree abroad...taking only about IT now.....they are much better off than me. Their knowledge is wider and they are provided with more practical experience.
    The trouble with learning from experience
    is that the test comes first and
    the lesson afterwards

I mean our universities have doing subjects that doesnt even directly apply to our goals.They just waste your time and then pretend as if they are paying u to be there.Utech is in shambles and i never went there,i just had the opportunity to deal with them and my god it was enough to make me not even consider going there.

My next question is this do you think the country has a platform for programmers?

Quote Originally Posted by techlady
    My next question is this do you think the country has a platform for programmers?
    I think it's better to start a general thread to get better views on that question

I mean our universities have doing subjects that doesnt even directly apply to our goals.They just waste your time and then pretend as if they are paying u to be there
    I agree

,i just had the opportunity to deal with them and my god it was enough to make me not even consider going there.