Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Powerline Network Adapters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    212
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Powerline Network Adapters

    What is the feedback from the use of Powerline Network Adapters in Jamaica?
    PHONE: XR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,028
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    If you're talking about BPL - it was something that I thought would happen many years ago, however nothing came out of it. If you're talking about for use in your own home then that's another thing.
    Knowing the solution doesn't mean knowing the method. Yet answering correctly and regurgitation are considered "learning" and "knowledge".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    212
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    For use at my own home.
    PHONE: XR

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,551
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BountyKilla View Post
    For use at my own home.
    I think its Usage is very prevalent. Even the ISPs have started to issue powerline devices to assist with coverage issues with respect to whole house WiFi.

    I have been using them for at least 10 yrs and the standard just keeps getting better with regards to how much throughput is available. Its more stable than WiFi and clearly distance coverage is stronger considering the thick cement walls we have in our homes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    212
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I bought the TP-Link AV1000 Powerline Starter Kit (TL-PA7017 KIT) from Amazon.

    Installed and working perfectly. Did speedtest and similar to my current wifi connection.

    Link: https://www.amazon.com/Powerline-Eth...ef_=ast_sto_dp
    PHONE: XR

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,289
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Do these kits have to be power outlet to power outlet or will there be issues if one is on a powerstrip.
    AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma @ 4GHz | Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler | GIGBABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P | Sapphire 6950 unlocked | 6Gb Gskill RAM | 1.5TB total HD | Dell U2412M IPS Monitor | Zalman 750W PSU | LENOVO SL500

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    212
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Power outlet to Power outlet, I find some powerstrip interfere with the signal between modules.

    You also have modules that have a built-in plug.



    See link: https://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-Power...ef_=ast_sto_dp
    PHONE: XR

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,289
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    OK thanks for that info.
    AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma @ 4GHz | Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler | GIGBABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P | Sapphire 6950 unlocked | 6Gb Gskill RAM | 1.5TB total HD | Dell U2412M IPS Monitor | Zalman 750W PSU | LENOVO SL500

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,028
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Depending on the setup you have at home - regular JPS supply with these should be fine. If you have an off-grid system then it may cause issues depending on the type of inverter you're using.

    https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1907840

    https://forums.energymatters.com.au/...topic3125.html

    https://community.tp-link.com/en/hom...m/topic/157711
    Knowing the solution doesn't mean knowing the method. Yet answering correctly and regurgitation are considered "learning" and "knowledge".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,551
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Thanks for that khat17. I learn something new everyday, had no clue switching to Solar could affect their operation since it supposed to just work off the wiring inside your home.

    It reminds me of when BPL was a thing and the HAM operators complained that it affected their signal.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •