Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: help with seting up xampp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    530
    Rep Power
    0

    Default help with seting up xampp

    I have a new installation of xampp on my machine. I all my website are popping up errors that once worked perfectly. I think it has something to with error message setting. I tried playing around by changing the setting but i cant seem to find the right combination for the settings. Any idea how to fix this?
    "...men are that they might have joy."
    Nephi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    725
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    What's the error message that you are receiving?
    Did you take turn off friendly messages in Internet option?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    530
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I cant recall the messages but it has to do with how variable are checked for example if($_POST['var'] != "") causes an error also all opening tags that dont have "<?php" causes an error. some of my opeing tags are simply "<?"
    "...men are that they might have joy."
    Nephi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    725
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    I do not have much experiences with xampp as it was a pain that's why i used wamp server instead.
    From the error you describe, its doesn't seem like its from xampp

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3,184
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Error messages are important. You will need to fix those errors eventually. especially if you plan to upload the website. But a temporary fix is to reduce the error level of you php.ini. Find you php.ini file and go to the Error handling and logging. You will see lots of text there, read it and set the "error_reporting = E_ALL | E_STRICT" or one of the other setting that are described.

  6. #6
    girldemsuga Guest

    Default

    In your php.ini file (C:\xampp\php\php.ini <== Default location)

    In line 516 of mine, I set the following:

    Code:
    error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_DEPRECATED

    If you want to really get rid of the errors, then you can turn errors off.
    In line 533

    Code:
    display_errors = Off

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3,184
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    turning errors off is a bad idea

  8. #8
    girldemsuga Guest

    Default

    I use the following to show me some errors

    Code:
    error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE
    Not as heavy as the E_STRICT option which shows everything, even show functions and other calls which have been depreciated.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    get website hosting for 24.95 per year at mandevillehosting.info

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    2,012
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dwih2007 View Post
    get website hosting for 24.95 per year at mandevillehosting.info
    suh how this help the man now

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •