Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: 17 Games that already benefit from six cores CPUs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    16,974
    Rep Power
    29

    Default 17 Games that already benefit from six cores CPUs



    Since March 2010 (Intel Core i7-980X) or June 2010 (AMD Phenom II X6 1055T and 1090T) respectively, there have been early desktop processors that carry six CPU-cores. Processors with eight or even twelve cores are in progress. What gamers might ask is: What's the gain of these additional cores?

    In order to be able to make presentable statements, we tested 24 games allowing for their ability to handle multi-core. A remarkable thing to say is that a great number of games already benefits from six cores. When we think back, the transisiton from two to four cores was slower. Back then, it took the games almost one year to profit by additional cores.

    Among other titles, we tested:

    Arcania - Gothic 4 (Preview-Version)
    Civilization 5
    Dead Rising 2
    Dragon Age (v1.04)
    F1 2010
    Lost Planet 2
    RUSE
    http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,7...CPUs/Practice/
    SLAPPA Phenom II AM3 Overclocking Essentials
    I HAVE HIGHEST OC ON TECHJA 4.2ghz
    4890oc beats gtx 285
    PS3 FAILCAKE
    ps3 only advantage is bluray
    4890 oc roundup
    http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/0/skugpezz.png
    Mi know dem fear mi!!!!! Gigabyte 790x ud4p
    phenom 2 955@3.8ghz 24/7 stable , 4GB ddr3 1333@1.5ghz ,3850 256MB (temp card) (4890 soon),700 watt dual rail psu, (overclocking rules) my avatar represents my personality

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    737
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i have Dragon Age and Lost planet 2. i reach episode 5 in lost planet 2. my 4 cores runs fine but id like that phenom 6 core tho
    CPU ATHLON II X4 635 3.4GHZ OC
    RAM 16GB DDR3 1600
    GFX ASUS HD 4870 1GB dark knight
    MOBO ASRock M3A785GXH/128M

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    4,629
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Civilization 5 ??? wth? what in gods name could that game need 6 cores for?? I thought this would be more graphic intensive ...meaning even if you have 2 or 4 core if you have a decent enough grfx card you can get the same results (and of course decent memory)
    Last edited by kilaj1; Oct 20, 2010 at 07:22 AM.
    CompTIA A+ Certified
    MCTS - Microsoft Certified Technical Specialist - Server Virtualization
    MCSA - Microsoft Certified System Administrator - Messaging

    It wasn't me!...........okay it was but you have no right to assume!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,807
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Ima get a 6 core soon, next year the latest, but buying the i7 980 1k usd price tag. hopefully ati has some new cards out by then.
    Discord Zelink#7178

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3,986
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zelink View Post
    Ima get a 6 core soon, next year the latest, but buying the i7 980 1k usd price tag. hopefully ati has some new cards out by then.
    Did you mean "but buying the i7 980 1k usd price tag" or "but not buying"? Also ATI should be releasing some new cards next month.
    Intel i5 2300, Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3, 12GB DDR3 @1600 MHZ, XFX 6870 2gb (Stock). All Stock

    For in much wisdom is much grief, and increase of knowledge is increase of sorrow | If you love something let it go, if it comes back to you its yours if it doesn't, it never was.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    737
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
    Did you mean "but buying the i7 980 1k usd price tag" or "but not buying"? Also ATI should be releasing some new cards next month.
    he meant buying. he bin talking about getting one how long now
    CPU ATHLON II X4 635 3.4GHZ OC
    RAM 16GB DDR3 1600
    GFX ASUS HD 4870 1GB dark knight
    MOBO ASRock M3A785GXH/128M

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9,074
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DjMiGz View Post
    he meant buying. he bin talking about getting one how long now
    he be a mad man then. w..t...f...

    where you live zelink?
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    You assume all risk for your use. 2006 Azix Solutions.
    All rights reserved.

    Dropbox: http://db.tt/8qVS35lo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,807
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    why mi mad i live in jamaica of course, i wana buy that i7 still, it sick or maybe when i get the cash buy supn even newer that comes out next year, wa build a 2k11 or late 2k10 gaming rig.. which will last me 3-4 years before i get rid of it.
    Last edited by zelink; Oct 20, 2010 at 09:00 PM.
    Discord Zelink#7178

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    737
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    mi happy wid wat i got crush any game come along.. almost done lost planet 2
    CPU ATHLON II X4 635 3.4GHZ OC
    RAM 16GB DDR3 1600
    GFX ASUS HD 4870 1GB dark knight
    MOBO ASRock M3A785GXH/128M

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    16,974
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DjMiGz View Post
    mi happy wid wat i got crush any game come along.. almost done lost planet 2
    Do you play snes emulators only?
    SLAPPA Phenom II AM3 Overclocking Essentials
    I HAVE HIGHEST OC ON TECHJA 4.2ghz
    4890oc beats gtx 285
    PS3 FAILCAKE
    ps3 only advantage is bluray
    4890 oc roundup
    http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/0/skugpezz.png
    Mi know dem fear mi!!!!! Gigabyte 790x ud4p
    phenom 2 955@3.8ghz 24/7 stable , 4GB ddr3 1333@1.5ghz ,3850 256MB (temp card) (4890 soon),700 watt dual rail psu, (overclocking rules) my avatar represents my personality

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •