Thread: Linux KDE 4.5

Default Linux KDE 4.5

Just thought to start a thread about KDE's newest updated version to hear what others think about it.

I'm quite new to KDE. Just decided to give it a shot when I saw that Linux Mint 9 Isadora KDE came out. Yesterday I updated it to 4.5, which is quite nice, and for me, it is like a hybrid of Windows 7 and Mac.

I'm no export on Linux or KDE, but I think I'm going to stick with it for a while, but will probably dual boot it with Maverick Meerkat (Ubuntu 10.10) when it comes out. I didn't have an issue with Ubuntu why a switched. I just switched out of two reasons. I have always been impressed with the looks of KDE and its Applications. The second reason - I have a friend that I have been trying to introduce to Linux. I told him about Ubuntu, but he wasn't too impressed with it. I believe it had more to do with the fact that Ubuntu didn't appeal to him at a glance. So I took it up myself to toy around with KDE so I can try it before installing it on one of his computers.

So far, I must say, though I like it, it wasn't as straightforward to use as Ubuntu, as navigating around it was a whole different experience from using Ubuntu. It has too many manus and settings for a complete beginner to Linux. I think I may have to probably go with installing Linux Mint 9 Gnome version on his computer, since he'll be more comfortable trying something closer to Windows.

Anyhow... want to hear what you guys thought about the new KDE (4.5), and KDE on a whole?

One of the good things about open source software is that you have so many options to choose from.

In my opinion, Gnome and KDE are just desktops. The underlying distro such as Mint or Ubuntu determine a lot re: ease of use.

There are so many choices and each person has his favourite. If you like the KDE desktop and you find Ubuntu easy to use, you can try Kubuntu.

I did a search for Kubuntu on the Ubuntu website and I found these two documents.

What is Kubuntu