Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,269
    Rep Power
    34

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    Bluwulf, want to give me a link to the actual html file so i can take a look at it?
    "The best software is the one that fits your needs." - A_A

    Virus free since: date unknown
    Anti-virus free since: August 2008

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    277
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    Bluwulf, heres my two cents:

    Try closing the table you have in the cell...in other words create a table for each 'declaration'.
    Contrary...Very Contrary!

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    277
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    This is what i mean -

    Code:
    <form> 
    
    
      <table> 
       <tr>
    
    
    
        <td>
         <table> 
          <tr>
           <td>
            DECLARATION FOR DROP DOWN MENU 1
           </td>  
          </tr>
         </Table>
        
         <Table>
          <tr>  
           <td>
             DECLARATION FOR DROP DOWN MENU 2
           </td>  
          </tr>
         </Table>
    
      </Tr>
    </Table>
    </Form>
    Contrary...Very Contrary!

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    277
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    oh, put in the missing
    Code:
     </Td>
    at the end

    any objections Arch Angel??
    Contrary...Very Contrary!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    284
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    Quote Originally Posted by Arch_Angel
    Bluwulf, want to give me a link to the actual html file so i can take a look at it?




    Wow that won't be as straight forward as it may sound considering that all the drop down menus are written in the form of functions that are called by other functions...but here goes:



    Code:
    function query_form($node_to_preselect,$user_to_preselect,$day_to_preselect_for_start_range,$month_to_preselect_for_start_range,$year_to_preselect_for_start_range,$hour_to_preselect_for_start_range,$minute_to_preselect_for_start_range,$second_to_preselect_for_start_range,$day_to_preselect_for_end_range,$month_to_preselect_for_end_range,$year_to_preselect_for_end_range,$hour_to_preselect_for_end_range,$minute_to_preselect_for_end_range,$second_to_preselect_for_end_range)
    
              {
    
    
                      ?>
                       
                        
                        <table border="1" width="10%">
    										 <form method="post" name="query_form" action="build_query.php">										
                         <tr>
                          <td align="center">
                           <table border="1" align="center">
                            <tr>
                             <th colspan="2">
                              <small>
                               <acronym title="Select VARIABLES FOR QUERY from the drop down menus below">SELECT VARIABLES FOR QUERY</acronym>
                              <small>
                             </th>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td colspan="2" style="line-height: 10px">
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td colspan="2">
                              <table border="1">
                               <tr>
                                <th align="left">
                                 <small>
                                  <acronym title="Select NODE from the drop down menu on your right">NODE</acronym>
                                 </small>
                                </th>
    
    
                                <td colspan="2">
                                 <?php
                                  select_node_drop_down_menu($node_to_preselect="");
                                 ?>
                                </td>
    
    
                                <td>
                                 &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
                                </td>
    
    
    
                                <th align="left">
                                 <small>
                                  <acronym title="Select USER from the drop down menu on your right">USER</acronym>
                                 </small>
                                </th>
    
                                <td>
                                 <?php
                                  select_user_drop_down_menu($user_to_preselect="");
                                 ?>
                                </td>
    
                               </tr>
                              </table>
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td colspan="2" style="line-height: 10px">
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <th align="center">
                              <small style="font-size:13px">
                               <acronym title="Select an START RANGE from the drop down menus below">SELECT START RANGE</acronym>
                              </small>
                             </th>
    
                             <th align="center">
                              <small style="font-size:13px">
                               <acronym title="Select an END RANGE from the drop down menus below">SELECT END RANGE</acronym>
                              </small>
                             </th>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td colspan="2" style="line-height: 10px">
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
    
                             <td>
                               <table border="1" width="10">
                                <th align="center">
                                 <small style="font-size:11px">
                                  <acronym title="Select SART DATE from the drop down menus on your right">START DATE</acronym>
                                 </small>
                                <th>
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_year_drop_down_menu_start_range($year_to_preselect_for_start_range=$year_to_preselect_for_start_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_month_drop_down_menu_start_range($month_to_preselect_for_start_range=$month_to_preselect_for_start_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_day_drop_down_menu_start_range($day_to_preselect_for_start_range=$day_to_preselect_for_start_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
                               </table>
                             </td>
    
                             <td>
                               <table border="1">
                                <th align="center">
                                 <small style="font-size:11px">
                                  <acronym title="Select END DATE from the drop down menus on your right">END DATE</acronym>
                                 </small>
                                <th>
    
                                <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_year_drop_down_menu_end_range($year_to_preselect_for_end_range=$year_to_preselect_for_end_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
    
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_month_drop_down_menu_end_range($month_to_preselect_for_end_range=$month_to_preselect_for_end_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
    
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_day_drop_down_menu_end_range($day_to_preselect_for_end_range=$day_to_preselect_for_end_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
                               </table>
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
    
                            <tr>
                             <td colspan="2" style="line-height: 10px">
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
    
                             <td>
                               <table border="1">
                                <th align="center">
                                 <small style="font-size:11px">
                                  <acronym title="Select SART TIME from the drop down menus on your right">START TIME</acronym>
                                 </small>
                                <th>
    
                                <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_hour_drop_down_menu_start_range($hour_to_preselect_for_start_range=$hour_to_preselect_for_start_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
                                 <th>
                                  :
                                 </th>
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_minute_drop_down_menu_start_range($minute_to_preselect_for_start_range=$minute_to_preselect_for_start_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
                                 <th>
                                  :
                                 </th>
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_second_drop_down_menu_start_range($second_to_preselect_for_start_range=$second_to_preselect_for_start_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
                               </table>
                             </td>
    ﻈļŭώŭļƒ

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    284
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    Code:
    <td>
                               <table border="1">
                                <th align="center">
                                 <small style="font-size:11px">
                                  <acronym title="Select END TIME from the drop down menus on your right">END TIME</acronym>
                                 </small>
                                <th>
    
                                <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_hour_drop_down_menu_end_range($hour_to_preselect_for_end_range=$hour_to_preselect_for_end_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
                                 <th>
                                  :
                                 </th>
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_minute_drop_down_menu_end_range($minute_to_preselect_for_end_range=$minute_to_preselect_for_end_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
    
                                 <th>
                                  :
                                 </th>
    
                                 <td>
                                  <?php
                                   select_second_drop_down_menu_end_range($second_to_preselect_for_end_range=$second_to_preselect_for_end_range);
                                  ?>
                                 </td>
                               </table>
                             </td>
                            </tr>
                            
    
    
    
                           </table>
    
    
    
    
    
                          <td>
                           <table border="2" align="center" width="10%">
                            <tr>
                             <td>
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
    
                            <tr>
                             <td>
                               <table border="0" align="center">
    
                                <tr>
    
    
                                  <td align="center">
                                   <!-- PREVIOUS BUTTON -->
                                   <button type="submit" name="previous_button" value="previous_button">
                                    <acronym title="Click button to see PREVIOUS 5 records">
                                     <b>
                                      <small>
                                       <<   
                                      </small>
                                     </b>
                                    </acronym>
                                   </button>
                                  </td>
    
                                  <td align="center">
                                   <!-- QUERY BUTTON -->
                                   <button type="submit" name="query_button" value="query_button">
                                    <acronym title="Click button to QUERY data in the Database based on the selections made in the above drop down menu">
                                     <b>
                                      <small>
                                         QUERY  
                                      </small>
                                     </b>
                                    </acronym>
                                   </button>
                                  </td>
    
    
    
    
    
                                  <td align="center">
                                   <!-- NEXT BUTTON -->
                                   <button type="submit" name="next_button" value="next_button">
                                    <acronym title="Click button to see NEXT 5 records">
                                     <b>
                                      <small>
                                          >>
                                      </small>
                                     </b>
                                    </acronym>
                                   </button>
                                  </td>
    
    
    
                               </tr>
                              </table>
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
                            <tr>
                             <td style="line-height: 10px">
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td>
    
                               <tr>
                                <td align="center">
                                 <!-- THIS WEEK REPORT BUTTON -->
                                 <button type="submit" name="this_week_report_button" value="this_week_report_button">
                                  <acronym title="Click button to generate THIS WEEKL REPORT of submissions made to the database">
                                   <b>
                                    <small>
                                     THIS WEEK REPORT
                                    </small>
                                   </b>
                                  </acronym>
                                 </button>
                                </td>
                               </tr>
    
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td style="line-height: 10px">
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td>
    
                               <tr>
                                <td align="center">
                                 <!-- NEXT WEEK REPORT BUTTON -->
                                 <button type="submit" name="next_week_report_button" value="next_week_report_button">
                                  <acronym title="Click button to TRY and generate NEXT WEEK REPORT for submissions made to the database">
                                   <b>
                                    <small>
                                     NEXT WEEK REPORT
                                    </small>
                                   </b>
                                  </acronym>
                                 </button>
                                </td>
                               </tr>
    
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td style="line-height: 10px">
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td>
    
                               <tr>
                                <td align="center">
                                 <!-- REFRESH RESULTS BUTTON -->
                                 <button type="submit" name="refresh_results_button" value="refresh_results_button">
                                  <acronym title="Click button to REFRESH RESULTS seen in the above table">
                                   <b>
                                    <small>
                                     REFRESH RESULTS
                                    </small>
                                   </b>
                                  </acronym>
                                 </button>
                                </td>
                               </tr>
    
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            <tr>
                             <td>
                              &nbsp;
                             </td>
                            </tr>
    
                            </tr>
                           </table>
                          </td>
                         </tr>
    
                        </table>
                       </form>
    
                      <?
              }

    Well there is the code :confused:


    This is the code I use for my drop down menu (well one of my drop down menus)


    Code:
    /* The argument "$node_to_preselect" indicates what node is to be preselected in the drop down menu when the menu is built */ 
    
    select_node_drop_down_menu($node_to_preselect)
              {
                    //Pulls the list of nodes from the DB and dynamically generates the "Node" drop-down menu
    
     
                   if (db_connect())
                    {
    
                          $sqlquery_nodes ="SELECT node_name FROM nodes ORDER BY node_name";
                          $result_nodes = mysql_query($sqlquery_nodes);
    
    
    
                          //DROP DOWN MENU FOR NODE
                          echo "<select name=\"node_selected\">";
                           echo "<option value=\"blank_node_selected\">--------- SELECT NODE ----------</option>";
                           while($table_row_nodes = mysql_fetch_array($result_nodes))
                           {
                                if ($node_to_preselect == $table_row_nodes["node_name"])
                                {
                                      echo'<option value="'.$table_row_nodes["node_name"].'" selected="'.$node_to_preselect.'">'.$table_row_nodes["node_name"].'</option>';
                                      $node_to_preselect = "";
                                }
                                else
                                {
                                       echo'<option value="'.$table_row_nodes["node_name"].'">'.$table_row_nodes["node_name"].'</option>';
                                }
    
                           }
                          echo"</select>";
    
                    }
                    else
                    {
    
                           ?>
                            <script>
                             alert("ERROR : CANNOT CONNECT TO  DATABASE");
                            </script>
                           <?
                           exit;
    
                    }
              }



    Yes I kno the code aint as "tight" as it can be...I'm currently in the process of getting rid of unneccessary tags (like acronym) and better implementing the use of CSS. But right now thats the least of my problems....my MAJOR problem is capturing the data from the dropdown menus.
    ﻈļŭώŭļƒ

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,269
    Rep Power
    34

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    Bluwulf, sorry if I wasn't clearer before. I meant the actual html output after your php page has been parsed. I just want to see how your html code actually is. And then use it to provide the code you need to accomplish what I suggested.
    "The best software is the one that fits your needs." - A_A

    Virus free since: date unknown
    Anti-virus free since: August 2008

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    284
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Additional row being created with HTML "<form>" tags

    Quote Originally Posted by Arch_Angel
    Bluwulf, sorry if I wasn't clearer before. I meant the actual html output after your php page has been parsed. I just want to see how your html code actually is. And then use it to provide the code you need to accomplish what I suggested.

    My php page simply detects that the user didn't select anything (even if the user actually selected something).In other words...if the user selected a "node" from the drop down menu the program detects that the node "selected" is "blank_node_selected" (you may refer to above code to see what I'm talking about)....If I wrap BUTTON 1,BUTTON 2 and BUTTON 3 in there own form tags a rather intresting ting occurs....my program apparently detects that the user selected someting....however it doesn't capture what the user actually selected.....
    Last edited by bluwulf; Sep 22, 2004 at 03:51 PM.
    ﻈļŭώŭļƒ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •