Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: LINUX NEWBIE HERE

Default LINUX NEWBIE HERE

Ok here is my problem. I have a Silicon Integrated Intel 537 [56k Winmodem]. Windows Xp with Sp1a detects it but no drivers are available for it. Ok so I installed Suse 9.1 (Sweet) it detected the modem and told me the Name above. Now it still does not connect. >

Ok now my other questions. I noticed that Xeno has his system performance on his desktop. How do you get that? How do I get transparency like Xeno?

More questions to come

Default Re:LINUX NEWBIE HERE

Even though it detects your modem that does not mean it has the drivers available still, then again it might, i had to download 56k drivers from an outside source (when i remember the name i will send you a link)

As to xeno's desktop he uses a seperate application... its somewhat like a style xp that you can use in linux, it is also available for windows, i remember there was a discussion about it in the general discussions thread post your desktop. I cant remember the name of that either (i need some brain food)

Right the programs used are Samurize in combination with Object Dock

i dont think he used samurize with Suse. i think the program he used is karamba. right Xeno?

I'm not sure myself but it looks like he used Super Karamba with maybe Slickbar and some other themes. The one screenshot i saw i didn't see his system performance there but if it was Superkarmaba that he used the system performance themse would be Cynapses.
    To get the transparency Xeno got there is a setting, I don't rember off-hand, that u can set the transperency level of 'The Bar' (psss don't know the corect name :-) )
    I know u were able to set it in KDE 3.2.
    I don't use KDE much anymore.. strictly Fluxbox ;D .

But then again Xeno can confirm all of this.

PS. I prefer to use Gkrellm2 for system performance. :P