Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 163

Thread: What should I look for in a Gaming rig?

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,905
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: What should I look for in a Gaming rig?

    pray for me peeps because if all goes to plan....i'm going to build my GOD machine.....the only thing might suck on it is the monitor....that aint priority now but i gonna milk my peeps in summer for bday money so stay tuned and keep it locked! MAX FACTOR.....a yu mi ago call fi advice!!

    19" LCD|Asus A8N SLI Deluxe|AMD X2 3800+ @ 2.5GHz Cooled by Zalman CNPS9500|4 x GSkill 1Gb DDR 400|2.25 TB Total storage|eVGA 256mb 8600GT DDR3 @ 640/1600MHz cooled by ZalmanVF700|Ultra X-Finity 600W PSU w/ 135mm fan|1 x 120mm|4 x 80mm|Altec Lansing AC56|Windows7 x64 : Ultimate

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    4,629
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: What should I look for in a Gaming rig?

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxFactor1
    nvidia sucks...
    my yout dont start that old argument again
    CompTIA A+ Certified
    MCTS - Microsoft Certified Technical Specialist - Server Virtualization
    MCSA - Microsoft Certified System Administrator - Messaging

    It wasn't me!...........okay it was but you have no right to assume!!

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    well an update, i'm back in ja and i built the computer, it's one of my laziest builds cause i jus did it over days, tha's actually buildin it and jus installin software. um right now due to some ram failure it's not runnin like wat iexpected but soon enough, ordered a pair of cosairs dual channel 400s so next week hopefully will tests it out in some games and so on. runs nice now still thought cause only 512 in there.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    yo it's like someone jus a nuh want mi computer done build, cause i have been havin some problems,and then even when i fix them stilll end up havin a small problem. but i think i got all of them licked now, jus waitin on my dual channel ddr

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,905
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    What kinda problems? Compatability issues?

    19" LCD|Asus A8N SLI Deluxe|AMD X2 3800+ @ 2.5GHz Cooled by Zalman CNPS9500|4 x GSkill 1Gb DDR 400|2.25 TB Total storage|eVGA 256mb 8600GT DDR3 @ 640/1600MHz cooled by ZalmanVF700|Ultra X-Finity 600W PSU w/ 135mm fan|1 x 120mm|4 x 80mm|Altec Lansing AC56|Windows7 x64 : Ultimate

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    well i took for granted that my 400w psu would run all the hardware that i had in my computer. though it did run it, i did everything within normal use and now problem, went to a game then within like 10min or so it would kick out. at first i thought i was a couple other things cause i jus couldn't narrow it down, thought it was heat cause the computer runnin much hotter than my previous setup. it's runs about average temp but to me it was hot cause my previous computer was runnin very cool. but things sorted out and workin nice now

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,185
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Point of advice although the Power supply unit is considered by many to be the least important device I must say you are all wrong. I had a pc chips board that gave me loads of problems on a 300watt power supply. I recently bought a new case with a 500watt power supply and I must say it's good to go for now. No booting problems.


    I would suggest that anyone buying a new pc use a 500 watt no less.
    Confucious says "he who knows not and knows that he knows not, is a child, teach him"

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,227
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    500W might be overkill...450W runs my box just fine

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,316
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i'ld say i 500w generic minimum, 400+ brand name should be fine

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    well already put in the 500w in my case and now problems, it's not like i had a booting problem before, i jus had problems in power hungry apps such as games, i thought before i need a new psu, but in the mobo book at normal setup which i land in i was to be alright with a 400w, though there were talkin about nvidia card, i got x850xt so i guess more power than the 6600gt they used in thier example.

    will post my benchmark lata

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •