Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53

Thread: DSS Technology-Is it still Worthwhile?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    278
    Rep Power
    0

    Default DSS Technology-Is it still Worthwhile?

    Hi everyone, ive had satelitte forever since C-band days and am thinking about going back.

    I had DSS from 2001 to 2002 and it wasnt really cutting it for me the card lasted 4 months without additional programming and then had to be reprogrammed every other week after that. I bought a Vortex-Pro 7700
    card-less free to air receiver shortly afterwards and still have it I am curious as to whether that receiver can still work now and get alot of channels.

    Thanks in advance for the replies.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    783
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    yes that one is still working and other free to air also getting alot of channel ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I am especially pleased with the fact that I can get the caribbean channels as well on FTA as well as many many others and the programming is relatively easy.
    111,111,111 x 111,111,111 = 12,345,678,987,654,321

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    278
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Programming?
    Isnt my receiver card-less also why would a free-to-air receiver need programming?
    Please elaborate.
    Also what size dish do you guys recommend I purchase for use with this receiver?
    Thanks in advance for the replies.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Not reallly programming it's just a matter of having the correct BIN for each specific receiver. This can be downloaded from any FTA site and coded into your receiver via the COMport. And whenever there is a key change it's just a matter of keying it with your remote.

    You need at least a 5' dish but hey the bigger the better.

    If you need help with your first coding etc, let me know okay and I will walk you through it.
    Last edited by soapcreek; Dec 29, 2006 at 06:30 AM.
    111,111,111 x 111,111,111 = 12,345,678,987,654,321

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    5,713
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Technically it is programming.

    I'm not sure about the "Vortex-Pro 7700" you'll find support for the Vortex-Pro 7700 receiver. Right now the most popular and supported receiver is Viewsat. The best places for FTA resources and support are www.hashhu.com and www.dssrookie.com. With the latter being the most popular.

    You can get "some" channels with a 4ft receiver but at least a 5ft is recommended. Unlike DSS, you are required to have at least 2 dishes if you wish to get Movies, Music, PPV etc... If you only have one dish you'll have to decide which channels you are more interested in viewing. If I remember correctly, PPV and Movie channels are located the 119 satellite while everything else is on 110.

    Anyways, check out the sites mentioned above.
    .:] ^ [:.
    .:] Game IDs: xfire_ropy | BC:BC2_ropy | BC: 2142_ropy29 | BF3_ | steam_ropy09 | LoL_ropy09 | Origin_ropy29 [:.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    You get PPV and VOD and 100's more channels on 110 as well echo 8 and with one dish. Rather than 2 dishes one dish with a dual LNB or 2 single LNBs will do the trick.
    111,111,111 x 111,111,111 = 12,345,678,987,654,321

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    5,713
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soapcreek View Post
    Rather than 2 dishes one dish with a dual LNB or 2 single LNBs will do the trick.
    Is that your current setup? The last time I checked that couldn't work out here; being that 110 & 119 are so far apart due to our geographical location.
    .:] ^ [:.
    .:] Game IDs: xfire_ropy | BC:BC2_ropy | BC: 2142_ropy29 | BF3_ | steam_ropy09 | LoL_ropy09 | Origin_ropy29 [:.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,988
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I would say Dish size depends largely on where you live.
    Persons closer to the west don't need a big dish.
    If i can split it up in Counties
    Cornwall
    - Minimum 3 foot
    - I've see persons get half the channels in the Negril area using the original 18" Dish.
    Middlesex
    - 5 foot minimum

    Surrey
    - 6 foot minimum. I used to have a 5 foot and was kinda satisfied but definitely didn't get some channels i needed. Located in Spanish Town

    I've seen Flow Cable and I must say it can hold a candle to the DSS quality but just a candle....DSS is like a BLOW TORCH! Superb quality
    .
    .
    .
    .
    DAMN!! I miss my DSS.
    The trouble with learning from experience
    is that the test comes first and
    the lesson afterwards

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    63
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I have a direct tv dish and receiver just sitting around, would it work here ?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •