Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which Database Do You Prefer

girldemsuga Guest

Post Which Database Do You Prefer

I was just wondering what databases do other people use?
    My personal favourite is MySQL 5.0 and i sometime write program for MS SQL Server.
    If it's a simple application, i might use MS Access but i hate it. Reason being that there are not much i can do with it in terms of SQL, it just the basic:
    Select, Update, Insert and DELETE.
    I am looking around for alterative to access which does require me to install a database engine on clients machine. (An alternativve which might work is SQLite but dont yet understand how to connect to it).

I'm an Oracle DBA so most naturally I prefer Oracle. I've also use MSSQL Server 5 Express, MySQL 4/5 and Firebird 1.3. An alternative to access could be Oracle 10G XE which is a scaled down version of Oracle 10G. You also have the Oracle Instant client which is really simple to install/configure.
    OS X/Ubuntu

SQL Server 2000

used MySql and Access but not much.
    never used Oracle, but i like it (too expensive and not targeted to small business - which i involved with)
    Cultured in Aggression and Koding like a Warrior!!
    “Common sense is instinct. Enough of it is genius.” - George Bernard Shaw.
    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them." - Albert Einstein

oracle and mssql has a personal free desktop edition, you could try those.

girldemsuga Guest

Quote Originally Posted by digerati
    I'm an Oracle DBA so most naturally I prefer Oracle. I've also use MSSQL Server 5 Express, MySQL 4/5 and Firebird 1.3. An alternative to access could be Oracle 10G XE which is a scaled down version of Oracle 10G. You also have the Oracle Instant client which is really simple to install/configure.