Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Is there software that can limit the amount of bandwidth used?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    139
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation Is there software that can limit the amount of bandwidth used?

    i upgraded my dsl to the 512 package and all its nice but when my sister starts doing her thing it messes up my game be it cstrike starcraft whatever. I wanna know if there is software out there that can limit the amount of bandwidth she takes up. If any of you know please tell me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,151
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Arent you the little Scrooge, learn to share!

    Anyway maybe you should check out: Quality of Service on a home network. How?

    Regards,
    Pogi Tuner.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    510
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    try this http://www.softperfect.com/download/

    Removed direct link to EXE file. Next time provide the link to the site so the users can have the choice to download it.
    Download the "SoftPerfect Bandwidth Manager" on the download page.

    -Arch_Angel
    Why fight Information Technology when you can outsource IT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    139
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation

    learn to share lol shes hogging all the bandwidth i cant play counterstrike ill give her a max of 10 kb/s because all she does is browse the net which makes my ping go all out of whack. i kinda was looking something free still but thank you anyways.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,316
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    when i feel mean with my J2 connection i just log into my router and 'block errrvvvveryting else' which is nightly since battlefield 2 haffi play

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    139
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    thats an idea but i cant do it my sister knows im crafty and she will bug the hell outa me so i wont be able to play anyways

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    325
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    has anyone here actually tried softperfect and got it to work??

    Or used any other bandwidth manager and got it to work successfully

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,428
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I saw this one in another TJ thread.
    GOTO Start
    RUN: gpedit.msc
    Administrative templates
    Network
    Qos
    Limit reservable bandwidth.
    (click enable, then set the value you want as a percentage)
    HTML Code:
    PM or link me                              Smartphone: Samsung Galaxy Note 8 SM-N950F
    CompTIA A+ Certified                       Laptop: Apple MacBook™ Pro
    ITIL v3  Certified                         Tablet: DELL Venue 11 Pro
                 Apple is still the best  thing since sliced bread

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    325
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    naa nokia i was talking about limiting the bandwidth of other people on the network not your own..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,428
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I now understand, thanks for the clarification
    HTML Code:
    PM or link me                              Smartphone: Samsung Galaxy Note 8 SM-N950F
    CompTIA A+ Certified                       Laptop: Apple MacBook™ Pro
    ITIL v3  Certified                         Tablet: DELL Venue 11 Pro
                 Apple is still the best  thing since sliced bread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •