Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: Slow Scotia Bank Online?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkAngel View Post
    Doing a quick check to see if others are experiencing frequent extremely slow loading of Scotia online banking portal?
    Been like that, for over a month now

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    254
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Ive been trying to log in from yesterday to pay some bills but the stupid thing just wont load. This is unacceptable from them since they are pushing the mobile banking to its customers.
    MSI B350 Tomhawk, Ryzen 7 1700 (3.8ghz), Cooler master hyper 212 evo heatsink, MSI gtx 1070, Corsair 16gb DDR4 (3000Mhz), Samsung 970 evo 1tb, Seagate 1tb + 500 gb

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,337
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Have you tried contacting their support line?
    Team Leader
    TechJamaica.com

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    6,223
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I just tried this URL and it opened in 15 seconds, slow but not that slow.
    https://www2.online.scotiabank.com/o...es/Landing.jsf
    .
    PC - Ubuntu 15.04 64bit Desktop
    HP Pav G60-236US 3GB RAM Laptop, Ubuntu 15.04 64bit and Win7 Home

    "So Daddy, how come you telling me stealing not right when YOU copying DVDs? How come? How Come?"


    RIP Ramesh ...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    11,065
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ramesh View Post
    I just tried this URL and it opened in 15 seconds, slow but not that slow.
    https://www2.online.scotiabank.com/o...es/Landing.jsf
    This is for business banking...

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    296
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Been complaining on social media for the longest while. Both website and mobile app has been annoyingly slow

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,038
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Their ABMs are a bit slow as well, they used to be much faster, now they've gotten really slow, some more than others tho
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    You assume all risk for your use. 2006 Cloud Solutions. All rights reserved.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,337
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Sounds like they're having some back-end bottle-necks, maybe their network backbone or server infrastructure.
    Team Leader
    TechJamaica.com

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,898
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cloud View Post
    Their ABMs are a bit slow as well, they used to be much faster, now they've gotten really slow, some more than others tho
    The problem with the ABMs has nothing to do with the hardware. It's all about the software and the way they are configured to communicate.

    What's interesting is that they don't need to be that slow. All ATMs operate on the same premise where your details are not communicated across the bank networks until you've finalized the transaction.

    Enter Card - Enter PIN - Enter Transaction (withdrawal/deposit) - then the details are sent over and your PIN is validated and all that. Some will do the PIN validation at the start I believe, or just before the data transfer takes place, but the problem is the implementation of the software.

    The more you know.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Sounds like they're having some back-end bottle-necks, maybe their network backbone or server infrastructure.
    Correct. But what to do? This is how we F/SLOW.
    Knowing the solution doesn't mean knowing the method. Yet answering correctly and regurgitation are considered "learning" and "knowledge".

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,529
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    The majority of Scotia's backend resides in Canada if not all so it is likely network backbone latency but since the Business portal is likely in the same place it could be either one as Chris said.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •