Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New Digicel 4G LTE Modem/Router - Does Anyone know how Fast is it ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Question New Digicel 4G LTE Modem/Router - Does Anyone know how Fast is it ?

    So today I was home, then decided to go to my friend net cafe, where I spot a "Digi Play bus" parkup , instantly I was shock and excited at the same time, then am like wait when since Digi Play reach ochi, must less where I live (Rural Area) ...

    Then I walk over to the bus, where I saw the technician on a roof settings up a modem, after he was done I ask him a few questions ...

    Is this the new replacement for wimax modem ? He said yes! It's the new 4GLTE modem ...

    I ask few more questions but my main one was, How fast is it ? "Right now am getting 29Down and 9Up"

    Does anyone here have this setup at home, if yes ? What's your speeds like ? Thanks ...
    E. Hacker [Hack or Be Hacked!]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    852
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ethical Hacker View Post
    So today I was home, then decided to go to my friend net cafe, where I spot a "Digi Play bus" parkup , instantly I was shock and excited at the same time, then am like wait when since Digi Play reach ochi, must less where I live (Rural Area) ...

    Then I walk over to the bus, where I saw the technician on a roof settings up a modem, after he was done I ask him a few questions ...

    Is this the new replacement for wimax modem ? He said yes! It's the new 4GLTE modem ...

    I ask few more questions but my main one was, How fast is it ? "Right now am getting 29Down and 9Up"

    Does anyone here have this setup at home, if yes ? What's your speeds like ? Thanks ...
    I'd love to see some diagnostics on this modem in question. Likely to be TDD-LTE (I hope... FDD is already saturated).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brandysull View Post
    I'd love to see some diagnostics on this modem in question. Likely to be TDD-LTE (I hope... FDD is already saturated).
    Yes! it is in fact TDD-LTE but the most concerning thing about it other than the speed its not unlimited, it has a 100 GB somewhat stop gap, you can still browse after that but it will be slow ... To download a Triple-A type game these days is 100 GB and most streaming is 1080p - 4K so how this ago sustain users ?
    E. Hacker [Hack or Be Hacked!]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ethical Hacker View Post
    Yes! it is in fact TDD-LTE but the most concerning thing about it other than the speed its not unlimited, it has a 100 GB somewhat stop gap, you can still browse after that but it will be slow ... To download a Triple-A type game these days is 100 GB and most streaming is 1080p - 4K so how this ago sustain users ?
    I dont see it on their website tho. I remember the wimax modem I had said LTE on it but idk. I'm wondering tho where can I get more information on this ...is it providing cable too? So is it also using the same network as the mobile users?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    303
    Rep Power
    0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    11,017
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Just got a text from Digicel...

    "Get fast Wi-Fi in your house with LTE Home, now available in Montego Bay. Meet us in Sam Sharpe Square today and look for a Digicel rep in your area for info."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Oh! okay, Cool ... A friend of my got it (Ocho Rios) am getting 20 Mbps DOWN and 14 UP but its not consistent most times under 5 Mbps, the website says "Up to 10 Mbps" i know you not gonna always get that but it shouldn't be that inconsistent ... However what concerns me the is the fact its "NOT unlimited" its taps out at 100 GB for the month (If you run out, they throttle your connection to 1 Mbps) and everything to do with this modem will cost you ... even to not use it for awhile ... smh! this to me seem like a big money venture ...
    E. Hacker [Hack or Be Hacked!]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,861
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Was not aware of us using FDD-LTE here in Jamaica. I have a phone that uses it and doesn't work here. Only EDGE. This would be the UleFone Power. Nice hardware but limited on data.

    As for Digicel and LTE - while their connection does seem more stable with usage, the FLOW network seems faster. Speed tests in various places always show Digicel as slower.
    Knowing the solution doesn't mean knowing the method. Yet answering correctly and regurgitation are considered "learning" and "knowledge".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by khat17 View Post
    Was not aware of us using FDD-LTE here in Jamaica. I have a phone that uses it and doesn't work here. Only EDGE. This would be the UleFone Power. Nice hardware but limited on data.

    As for Digicel and LTE - while their connection does seem more stable with usage, the FLOW network seems faster. Speed tests in various places always show Digicel as slower.
    You mean TDD-LTE right?. Anyway Digicel LTE is super slow because they don't use wideband LTE frequency on their network. Flow uses 20mhz of band 4 LTE 20Mhz of Band 2 LTE and 5mhz of Band 12 LTE. Digicel uses only 10mhz of Band 17 LTE and 10mhz of Band 4 LTE. Flow also uses Ericsson equipment, which is the best in the industry. Flow also uses higher modulation and full fibre to the back haul.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    240
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Did a couple speedtests in downtown Kingston today and was getting 60-70 Mbs with under 20 ms latency on Digicel LTE. Big improvement over what i was experiencing a month ago.
    MSI B350 Tomhawk, Ryzen 7 1700 (3.8ghz), Cooler master hyper 212 evo heatsink, MSI gtx 1070, Corsair 16gb DDR4 (3000Mhz), Samsung 960 evo 250gb nvme, 1.5tb HDD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •