Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Flow LTE reserving call credit for data.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dre' View Post
    I have the SM-G935FD S7 Edge dual sim version and I'm not experienced that issue, defiantly account related.

    Also the data works fine when the other sim is active except during call on the other sim.. Aside from that I can browse and talk using the same sim card regardless of the network.

    I use both Flow and Digicel Data. Speed wise it's Flow, better packages of recent is Digicel.
    Used 14GB less than 30 days now thanks to Digicel. Flow packages aren't favourable.Not everyone uses Deezer and those other stuff. Give us the full data allocation and let us use it for what we want.
    Which Network do you use for LTE?, is it Flow. The issue only happens with LTE, and seeing that you and many other Flow LTE customers dont have this issue. I really believe that this issue is localized to my account only. I dont know what to do, as none of the Customer Care agents have a clue as to how to permanently fix the problem.

    I agree with you too that Flows data packages are not customer intuitive. I stopped using Deezer as it makes no sense and has too many restrictions. They should give us the 600MB allocated to Deezer, for us to choose what we want to use it for.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10,959
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    I guess when the LTE Network was in testing mode and you were on it enjoying it and speed testing and so on they are now collecting back them money..

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    710
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan77791 View Post
    Which Network do you use for LTE?, is it Flow. The issue only happens with LTE, and seeing that you and many other Flow LTE customers dont have this issue. I really believe that this issue is localized to my account only. I dont know what to do, as none of the Customer Care agents have a clue as to how to permanently fix the problem.

    I agree with you too that Flows data packages are not customer intuitive. I stopped using Deezer as it makes no sense and has too many restrictions. They should give us the 600MB allocated to Deezer, for us to choose what we want to use it for.
    I have to use LTE for Flow whenever I travel to Kingston or Portmore if I want to do anything. The signal is low by Marcus Garvey Drive however very stable.
    When I try to connect using 3G , i get miss calls and data crawl or come to a stand still.
    Currently: HP Touchsmart 14t
    SM-G935FD - S7 Edge dual sim: Android 7 Official
    The 3 C's in life: Choice, Chance, Change. You must make the Choice, to take the Chance, if you want anything in life to Change.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GPRS Internet View Post
    I guess when the LTE Network was in testing mode and you were on it enjoying it and speed testing and so on they are now collecting back them money..
    I believe that this maybe the case, I think the tower I'm connected to at home. Is to blame for this annoying issue, I have to idea how to reset the attach messages to the tower.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dre' View Post
    I have to use LTE for Flow whenever I travel to Kingston or Portmore if I want to do anything. The signal is low by Marcus Garvey Drive however very stable.
    When I try to connect using 3G , i get miss calls and data crawl or come to a stand still.
    OK, Flow LTE is very fast.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan77791 View Post
    Hey Guys, I really hope someone out there in the community can help or advise me on this frustrating and ongoing problem. As the title states, my call credit keeps getting reserved for data. I do not know what is causing this to happen and either does Flow. It all started in August of 2017 when LTE was in testing in my area. My phone had detected the LTE signal, and I did a speed test without a purchased data plan. I notice that from then on, whenever I have a LTE connection. My call credit, sometimes some of it is gone.

    I called Customer care many times, having spoken to many clueless agents over the months. I finally got an agent who advised me that maybe the issue is with my Sim Card, so I was advised to get my sim replaced with one of the LTE sims. Having purchased my Sim Card back in December of 2016. It was compatible with the LTE Network, but it was not an LTE sim. I had the Sim Card replaced and upgraded to the LTE ones. I notice that when I inserted the new Sim into my phone, No APN was selected, so I selected the Lime Prepaid Internet APN. And then reset via airplane mode. Thinking that the problem was now solved, I had doubts. After four hours I checked my account balance, and saw that $100 was gone. I know now that the issue has not gone away, nor solved by the Sim swap.

    I am very frustrated now, as I don't know what to do. And neither does anyone at Flow, apart from being advised to change Network Mode from LTE/WCDMA/GSM auto to just WCDMA/GSM and changing apn from prepaid to postpaid, as well as calling customer care for them to turn off data connection from the networks end, Then calling them to turn it on again when I need it. Nothing seems to fix the issue permanently.

    I am asking anyone with knowledge of this or any fix to the issue, to please assist me, Also is there anyone else out there having this issue, or a similar problem?. I am very frustrated, as I remember needing to make a call, and when I dialed the number. I was told i have no credit, so I had to beg a stranger a call. This issue seems to only happen when I am in an LTE covered area. Where I live has LTE now, so the problem is there unresolved. I am wondering if it is the Cell tower that my phone is connected to, that is causing the problem. This all started when I did that speed test without a data plan, while the LTE Network was in testing. So its either that, or Flow has a bug on their system. I don't see or hear any complaints about this issue on Social Media or via customer care. So I guess this is probably localized to me. Anyway, hope there is someone who can help or advise me on procedures to solve this issue, Thank you.

    Some questions/thoughts (?). I looked back at your speedtest post in the other Thread where you posted your speed results. (http://www.techjamaica.com/forums/sh...885#post799885)

    I know you stated that you don't have the issue with Digi SIM. But, as someone mentioned it could be a back end system issue. Also could be that now combined with a setting of some sort on your device is causing a problem. Sounds almost like you would need some kind of debugging app to be able to see what [is occurring] when the credit [is] deducted. Maybe even SignalCheck Lite could glean some info. Someone knowledgeable may be able to deduce something from that Field Service mode screenshot.

    I suspect your ability to do Speedtest without data may have opened up something on device and it may still be "testing" even when you don't intend it to. Have you removed the app from your device? Restricted it from using data in permissions? Or have you checked data usage to see which, if not the Speedtest app, is possibly appearing to use data (thus your credit)? Have you considered enabling the setting to cap data usage?


    And of course the option we don't always like to hear - Full Factory Reset attempted (backing up data first of course). You can even backup to a PC or Mac using Samsung Smart Switch application on the PC or Mac. EDIT: Also, is there another device you can use temporarily to see if this still occurs?
    Last edited by mista736; Mar 6, 2018 at 04:59 AM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,519
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Or simply change the phone lol... People make some simple things so complicated, obviously their life isn't

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mista736 View Post
    Some questions/thoughts (?). I looked back at your speedtest post in the other Thread where you posted your speed results. (http://www.techjamaica.com/forums/sh...885#post799885)

    I know you stated that you don't have the issue with Digi SIM. But, as someone mentioned it could be a back end system issue. Also could be that now combined with a setting of some sort on your device is causing a problem. Sounds almost like you would need some kind of debugging app to be able to see what [is occurring] when the credit [is] deducted. Maybe even SignalCheck Lite could glean some info. Someone knowledgeable may be able to deduce something from that Field Service mode screenshot.

    I suspect your ability to do Speedtest without data may have opened up something on device and it may still be "testing" even when you don't intend it to. Have you removed the app from your device? Restricted it from using data in permissions? Or have you checked data usage to see which, if not the Speedtest app, is possibly appearing to use data (thus your credit)? Have you considered enabling the setting to cap data usage?


    And of course the option we don't always like to hear - Full Factory Reset attempted (backing up data first of course). You can even backup to a PC or Mac using Samsung Smart Switch application on the PC or Mac. EDIT: Also, is there another device you can use temporarily to see if this still occurs?
    I did do a factory reset, and the issue still persist. I even used a different device. And the same issue still happens. I don't know what else to do, even if I change phones. I am still having the issue, I even got my 2016 sim card replaced and upgraded to the 2018 LTE sim card. Still nothing works, the issue is with my account from thier end.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jomo View Post
    Or simply change the phone lol... People make some simple things so complicated, obviously their life isn't
    I tried my new sim in a different phone. And the issue still happens, I am not making anything simple complicated. If the current phone was to blame, then why is it still happening with other phones?. This only happens with LTE.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,519
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan77791 View Post
    I tried my new sim in a different phone. And the issue still happens, I am not making anything simple complicated. If the current phone was to blame, then why is it still happening with other phones?. This only happens with LTE.
    Maybe it happens to other people and they just don't know, I've had credit disappear with FLOW all the time, never really cared, and as soon as a data plan is finished all the credit wipes off in seconds

    With the new digicel pre paid plans nothing else makes sense to me now so I'm cancelling my post paid digicel and pre paid flow sim I'll throw it away and just use one sum instead of 3 lol

    You'll be forever on this thread trying to find out what the problem is, if you want the number that bad you can port it to digicel and im pretty sure you won't have any issue with credit and data with digicel (anymore)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •