Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Multi-Monitor Setup

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    2,972
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    "A question which commonly arises when people are considering 27 inch monitors in particular is what real practical advantages a higher resolution of 2560 x 1440 (WQHD) brings to the table compared to the now ubiquitous 1920 x 1080 (Full HD) resolution. You can work out that the WQHD monitor has 3,686,400 pixels compared to the 2,073,600 of the Full HD (which is over 1.77 times as many), but what does this actually mean in practice? The first consideration is that you will most likely be comparing monitors with the same screen size and dimensions – both being 27” diagonal in the 16:9 aspect ratio........"

    https://pcmonitors.info/articles/256...s-1920-x-1080/

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    25
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by owen View Post
    heres another dell with a god awful 1440 x 900 resolution.
    I'm still walking and calling around a bit...I see 1600x900 monitors for comparable prices too. And then the 1920x1080 monitor prices are inflated for no apparent reason...upwards of $25,000.



    Quote Originally Posted by khat17 View Post
    It is possible with some games. L4D2 and others using the Source engine have a windowed borderless option - this is the full space of your primary monitor with the option to alt-tab away at any time.
    Ah...I see...I'll need to check that out then. Thanks



    Quote Originally Posted by pezz View Post
    Eww.... What kind of resolution is that.
    lol



    Quote Originally Posted by owen View Post
    my 17" is running at 1280 by 1024. but its from the pre-widescreen days. I have grown accustomed to widescreen but I hate the scrolling you have to do
    Agreed...You may have to get a huge widescreen to offset the scrolling...or more pixels.



    Quote Originally Posted by owen View Post
    "A question which commonly arises when people are considering 27 inch monitors in particular is what real practical advantages a higher resolution of 2560 x 1440 (WQHD) brings to the table compared to the now ubiquitous 1920 x 1080 (Full HD) resolution. You can work out that the WQHD monitor has 3,686,400 pixels compared to the 2,073,600 of the Full HD (which is over 1.77 times as many), but what does this actually mean in practice? The first consideration is that you will most likely be comparing monitors with the same screen size and dimensions both being 27 diagonal in the 16:9 aspect ratio........"

    https://pcmonitors.info/articles/256...s-1920-x-1080/
    Very informative post owen...more pixels does the trick. That's also why I'm reluctant to go with anything less that my current 1280x1024.

    For the time being I'm more than likely gonna go with one like this from a local store, gonna go look at it tomorrow: https://www.amazon.com/Dell-1707FPT-.../dp/B002M9QSCQ
    Last edited by slimalbert1; Apr 7, 2017 at 10:34 PM.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    2,972
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I have a 17" just like that one except it only has a VGA port and is 17 years old. I'll get rid of it as soon as I find a worthy upgrade. something like this would rock my boat; https://www.amazon.com/Dell-UltraSha...rds=u2410+dell

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    25
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by owen View Post
    ...I don't want to deal with import duty surprises at all. Plus these monitors often weigh like 20 pounds.
    Getting a 1050Ti into the country was very simple, easy and cheap, compared to getting a 1080p monitor into the country is a cruel irony.



    Quote Originally Posted by owen View Post
    I have a 17" just like that one except it only has a VGA port and is 17 years old. I'll get rid of it as soon as I find a worthy upgrade. something like this would rock my boat; https://www.amazon.com/Dell-UltraSha...rds=u2410+dell
    I didn't bother to purchase it because all but one of the OSD and settings buttons were defective.
    The Dell in that link though...that looks pretty nice!



    Quote Originally Posted by khat17 View Post
    It's a TCL L24D2700.

    Runs at 1366x768 normally. Can run 1080 (does with some games) although the visuals not always clean, but I'm not complaining. Gets the job done. I *might* replace it with a 1080 monitor and give this to my wife. But will see. I still frag people when I play online.
    Now I'm actually considering this for the short-term for gaming, and then pairing it with a 1920x1080 monitor.
    Last edited by slimalbert1; Apr 13, 2017 at 11:59 PM.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    216
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    So how do you guys deal with the high GPU clock speeds at idle while running multiple monitors?
    Car Audio and PC Enthusiast. System Specs:CPU:Intel-Core i7 4790k 4Ghz quad-core processor, COOLER: Corsair H80i V2, MOBO:MSI Z97A Gaming 7, RAM:Kingston Savage 16gb (2x8) 1866mhz, SSD:Samsung 850 evo-series 250gb, HDD:WD black 7200rpm 1tb, GPU:MSI geforce GTX 980ti gaming 6G, CASE:Corsair carbide 230t black, PSU:EVGA 850W G2 80+GOLD.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,188
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cushman View Post
    So how do you guys deal with the high GPU clock speeds at idle while running multiple monitors?
    Which GPU is having that issue? Also what clock speeds are you calling "high"?
    I know that NVidia had a bug at some point where the GPU clock speed was increased when running in idle mode but I think they got rid of that with a driver update.
    AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma @ 4GHz | Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler | GIGBABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P | Sapphire 6950 unlocked | 6Gb Gskill RAM | 1.5TB total HD | Dell U2412M IPS Monitor | Zalman 750W PSU | LENOVO SL500

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    216
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BNOVA View Post
    Which GPU is having that issue? Also what clock speeds are you calling "high"?
    I know that NVidia had a bug at some point where the GPU clock speed was increased when running in idle mode but I think they got rid of that with a driver update.
    No they didn't it's still an issue, the GPU would run at the base clock speeds which in turn increase the temperature at idle and it wasn't a bug they actually did it themselves in order for the GPU to run multiply displays, they even said the issue ended with the 600 series but people have the issue still.
    Car Audio and PC Enthusiast. System Specs:CPU:Intel-Core i7 4790k 4Ghz quad-core processor, COOLER: Corsair H80i V2, MOBO:MSI Z97A Gaming 7, RAM:Kingston Savage 16gb (2x8) 1866mhz, SSD:Samsung 850 evo-series 250gb, HDD:WD black 7200rpm 1tb, GPU:MSI geforce GTX 980ti gaming 6G, CASE:Corsair carbide 230t black, PSU:EVGA 850W G2 80+GOLD.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,188
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Ok. I never knew they still had the problem. It seems that the problem resides in the design of the GPUs and hence the everyone with an Nvidia card will have issues with multi-monitor setup at idle.
    AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma @ 4GHz | Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler | GIGBABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P | Sapphire 6950 unlocked | 6Gb Gskill RAM | 1.5TB total HD | Dell U2412M IPS Monitor | Zalman 750W PSU | LENOVO SL500

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    216
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BNOVA View Post
    Ok. I never knew they still had the problem. It seems that the problem resides in the design of the GPUs and hence the everyone with an Nvidia card will have issues with multi-monitor setup at idle.
    Yes. As i wrote before, they were the ones who did it that way to run multiply monitors.
    Car Audio and PC Enthusiast. System Specs:CPU:Intel-Core i7 4790k 4Ghz quad-core processor, COOLER: Corsair H80i V2, MOBO:MSI Z97A Gaming 7, RAM:Kingston Savage 16gb (2x8) 1866mhz, SSD:Samsung 850 evo-series 250gb, HDD:WD black 7200rpm 1tb, GPU:MSI geforce GTX 980ti gaming 6G, CASE:Corsair carbide 230t black, PSU:EVGA 850W G2 80+GOLD.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    2,972
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Was passing Royal and they have a HP Elite E242 for 44,700$ and the E240 for 32,600$. the E242 is pricey but at least its 24" 16x10 aspect WUXGA (1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •