Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: High pings with Flow

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,820
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gW33Zy View Post
    Again, why are you pinging Flow's local server? As far as I am aware there are no any datacenters in Jamaica that are used by any foreign company.

    If you want to test you internet latency use CMD prompt to ping 'google.com' or '8.8.8.8'. That will give your real-world latency measurement.

    Go ahead and ping '8.8.8.8' and see how it compares to your SpeedTest results.
    Ok so I did a 8.8.8.8 ping test and averaging 39 ms pings. Is this normal for that IP or should it be lower?:

    Current Android - HTC One M9+
    PC Specs - Motherboard: Asus Z77 -A | Processor: Intel Core i5-3570K (Overclocked to 4.4 ghz) | Memory: 2x 4gig Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600mhz | Video Card: Asus Strix GTX 970 (1400+mhz O.C) | Monitor: Asus VG248QE 24" 144hz HD/3D | Steam ID --> Powpow

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,197
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    That ping result is normal for goolge.com
    AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma @ 4GHz | Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler | GIGBABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P | Sapphire 6950 unlocked | 6Gb Gskill RAM | 1.5TB total HD | Dell U2412M IPS Monitor | Zalman 750W PSU | LENOVO SL500

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    168
    Rep Power
    13

    Default





    Last edited by BountyKilla; Feb 11, 2017 at 06:01 AM.
    PHONE: ONE PLUS 2
    COMPUTER: APPLE MACBOOK PRO 13'' W/ RETINA DISPLAY
    TABLET: APPLE IPAD MINI 3

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    937
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BountyKilla View Post




    These results are more representative of what of the actual latency of the connection from your house to the "Internet". Disregard the California and Ontario result as most service providers have edge servers on the East coast that will serve your data requests.
    Last edited by gW33Zy; Feb 11, 2017 at 11:04 AM.
    1.8 Ghz Pentium 4 (OC'd.) / Intel P4 (478) Motherboard / 800MHz DDR / 256 Mb DDR RAM / 40GB Seagate / RIVA TNT2 Pro 32MB / 24X12X24 Sony CDRW+ / 18" View Sonic CRT / Windows ME Yes it will play Doom... i plan on trying Crysis 3 one of these days.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,820
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Looks like either Flow or Riot fixed the issue that was causing the high pings. Not sure what it could have been but even though ping was showing twice as much as my normal, it still felt like I was playing close to my normal low ping sometimes. A misread of some sorts perhaps .

    Anyways here's how my ping look when it was high and how it should normally look:

    Current Android - HTC One M9+
    PC Specs - Motherboard: Asus Z77 -A | Processor: Intel Core i5-3570K (Overclocked to 4.4 ghz) | Memory: 2x 4gig Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600mhz | Video Card: Asus Strix GTX 970 (1400+mhz O.C) | Monitor: Asus VG248QE 24" 144hz HD/3D | Steam ID --> Powpow

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hello am dowyane do you know a way how i can get free internet with either lime or digicel phone ?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    937
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dowyane View Post
    Hello am dowyane do you know a way how i can get free internet with either lime or digicel phone ?
    Try walking up and down the place and look for open wifi hotspots, maybe try your parish library. Or the easiest way, ask your neighbour to lend you their wifi password until you get yours.
    1.8 Ghz Pentium 4 (OC'd.) / Intel P4 (478) Motherboard / 800MHz DDR / 256 Mb DDR RAM / 40GB Seagate / RIVA TNT2 Pro 32MB / 24X12X24 Sony CDRW+ / 18" View Sonic CRT / Windows ME Yes it will play Doom... i plan on trying Crysis 3 one of these days.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •