Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: High pings with Flow

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,852
    Rep Power
    18

    Thumbs down High pings with Flow

    So last year when I finally switched from the Lime 8 meg package to the Flow 20 megs package, my pings in League of Legends went from 80+ to a decent and most times steady 69-71 ms ping. But since this start of the year I notice my pings have started going in the 100's up to a steady 151 ms or higher.

    I just tried testing in another game "Rocket League" and it was showing steady at 72 ms ping and then started going to 84 ms ping, so wondering if this is a local thing or just connection to certain regions? Anyone else having similar issues?
    Current Android - HTC One M9+
    PC Specs - Motherboard: Asus Z77 -A | Processor: Intel Core i5-3570K (Overclocked to 4.4 ghz) | Memory: 2x 4gig Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600mhz | Video Card: Asus Strix GTX 970 (1500mhz O.C) | Monitor: Asus VG248QE 24" 144hz HD/3D | Steam ID --> Powpow

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    202
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    PHONE: S8

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    443
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BountyKilla View Post
    My Ping times with the 20Mbps package is never ever that high. The highest it has ever gone was 15. And that is very rare, my speeds also are constantly high, I sometimes get 25Mbps. So I guess it a customer issue.
    Last edited by Nathan77791; Feb 9, 2017 at 02:17 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    443
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Powpow View Post
    So last year when I finally switched from the Lime 8 meg package to the Flow 20 megs package, my pings in League of Legends went from 80+ to a decent and most times steady 69-71 ms ping. But since this start of the year I notice my pings have started going in the 100's up to a steady 151 ms or higher.

    I just tried testing in another game "Rocket League" and it was showing steady at 72 ms ping and then started going to 84 ms ping, so wondering if this is a local thing or just connection to certain regions? Anyone else having similar issues?
    My Ping times with the 20Mbps package is never ever that high. The highest it has ever gone was 15. And that is very rare, my speeds also are constantly high, I sometimes get 25Mbps. So I guess it a customer issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,220
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Powpow View Post
    So last year when I finally switched from the Lime 8 meg package to the Flow 20 megs package, my pings in League of Legends went from 80+ to a decent and most times steady 69-71 ms ping. But since this start of the year I notice my pings have started going in the 100's up to a steady 151 ms or higher.

    I just tried testing in another game "Rocket League" and it was showing steady at 72 ms ping and then started going to 84 ms ping, so wondering if this is a local thing or just connection to certain regions? Anyone else having similar issues?
    More thank likely it is the LOL server your connecting to or the route the traffic takes to get there. Once the traffic goes off island there is very little the ISP can do.
    AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma @ 4GHz | Thermalright Ultima 90 CPU cooler | GIGBABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P | Sapphire 6950 unlocked | 6Gb Gskill RAM | 1.5TB total HD | Dell U2412M IPS Monitor | Zalman 750W PSU | LENOVO SL500

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    949
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BountyKilla View Post
    Can somebody explain to me why this result say the server location is Kingston (less than 50 miles away at that)?

    Wouldn't it be more sensible to ping a server on the American East coast, where the LOL servers are likely to be located?
    1.8 Ghz Pentium 4 (OC'd.) / Intel P4 (478) Motherboard / 800MHz DDR / 256 Mb DDR RAM / 40GB Seagate / RIVA TNT2 Pro 32MB / 24X12X24 Sony CDRW+ / 18" View Sonic CRT / Windows ME Yes it will play Doom... i plan on trying Crysis 3 one of these days.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    443
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    This was my current speed after two test.



    http://imgur.com/a/1usmG

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,852
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    As you can see below my connection is fine. As Gweezy said speedtest seem to only test locally, so seems it's really a overseas or maybe server issue. Doesn't anyone in here play League of Legends or even Battlefield or some online game and notice any difference in their pings?:

    Current Android - HTC One M9+
    PC Specs - Motherboard: Asus Z77 -A | Processor: Intel Core i5-3570K (Overclocked to 4.4 ghz) | Memory: 2x 4gig Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600mhz | Video Card: Asus Strix GTX 970 (1500mhz O.C) | Monitor: Asus VG248QE 24" 144hz HD/3D | Steam ID --> Powpow

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10,961
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    You can change the test server..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    949
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan77791 View Post
    This was my current speed after two test.



    http://imgur.com/a/1usmG
    Again, why are you pinging Flow's local server? As far as I am aware there are no any datacenters in Jamaica that are used by any foreign company.

    If you want to test you internet latency use CMD prompt to ping 'google.com' or '8.8.8.8'. That will give your real-world latency measurement.

    Go ahead and ping '8.8.8.8' and see how it compares to your SpeedTest results.
    1.8 Ghz Pentium 4 (OC'd.) / Intel P4 (478) Motherboard / 800MHz DDR / 256 Mb DDR RAM / 40GB Seagate / RIVA TNT2 Pro 32MB / 24X12X24 Sony CDRW+ / 18" View Sonic CRT / Windows ME Yes it will play Doom... i plan on trying Crysis 3 one of these days.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •