Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48

Thread: Tablet infected with malware

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,164
    Rep Power
    29

    Default Tablet infected with malware

    Guys I have a friends tablet that has been infected by malware. It downloads pornographic material and ads whenever it connects to the internet. It also automatically turns on the wifi when I turn it off. I have done a factory reset but same thing happens. It's running Android 4.4.

    I have gone into safe mode and tried to remove some chinese looking apps and pornclub apps running in the background. But they seem to automatically restart again.

    Anyone have any idea how to get this off?
    "The best software is the one that fits your needs." - A_A

    Virus free since: date unknown
    Anti-virus free since: August 2009

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10,961
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Memory card in it? These apps generally live on your memory card..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,303
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Yeah, try removing the memory card. If it is infected be careful which other machine you put it in. Also, turn off the wifi router that it connects to until you get the machine cleaned. That way it won't have Internet access until cleaned.
    Team Leader
    TechJamaica.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    16,974
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    It probably storing the stuff in cache. Boot into recover and clear dalvik cache
    SLAPPA Phenom II AM3 Overclocking Essentials
    I HAVE HIGHEST OC ON TECHJA 4.2ghz
    4890oc beats gtx 285
    PS3 FAILCAKE
    ps3 only advantage is bluray
    4890 oc roundup
    http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/0/skugpezz.png
    Mi know dem fear mi!!!!! Gigabyte 790x ud4p
    phenom 2 955@3.8ghz 24/7 stable , 4GB ddr3 1333@1.5ghz ,3850 256MB (temp card) (4890 soon),700 watt dual rail psu, (overclocking rules) my avatar represents my personality

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,164
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GPRS Internet View Post
    Memory card in it? These apps generally live on your memory card..
    When you say memory card, you mean an SD card right? There is only 1 slot on the tablet. Not sure if it's for a SIM chip or an SD card as there is no markings. But I'm gonna take a wild guess it's probably for the SIM and that there is no way to add extra memory. Just a guess tho.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Yeah, try removing the memory card. If it is infected be careful which other machine you put it in. Also, turn off the wifi router that it connects to until you get the machine cleaned. That way it won't have Internet access until cleaned.
    Don't think there is a way to remove anything. The only available slot on it is empty. I have factory reset and cleared all data off internal storage. Malware still exists.

    Quote Originally Posted by pezz View Post
    It probably storing the stuff in cache. Boot into recover and clear dalvik cache
    I can boot into safe mode. Not sure how to boot into recovery. I read you hold down volume button during boot but that doesn't seem to work.

    Other friends have suggested I reinstall the Android OS as they believe it's this virus that's on it: http://thehackernews.com/2016/07/and...king-tool.html

    I can install a Windows OS. Even a Linux OS. But this is the first time trying to install a mobile OS and the only places I seem to find Android OS is some shady sites offering zip files.
    Last edited by Arch_Angel; Jul 3, 2016 at 08:05 PM.
    "The best software is the one that fits your needs." - A_A

    Virus free since: date unknown
    Anti-virus free since: August 2009

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,164
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    I have tried scanning the tablet with bitdefender but results came back clean. smh
    "The best software is the one that fits your needs." - A_A

    Virus free since: date unknown
    Anti-virus free since: August 2009

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,817
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Some of the tablets - depending on the infection - can only be cleaned by flashing the firmware. Backup the information and plan for that.
    Knowing the solution doesn't mean knowing the method. Yet answering correctly and regurgitation are considered "learning" and "knowledge".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,164
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by khat17 View Post
    Some of the tablets - depending on the infection - can only be cleaned by flashing the firmware. Backup the information and plan for that.
    Flashing the firmware? Guess I'll have to do some reading on how to do that.

    What information would I need to backup?
    "The best software is the one that fits your needs." - A_A

    Virus free since: date unknown
    Anti-virus free since: August 2009

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    16,974
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    I don't think you would want to backup a tablet with virus.

    Unless you want to restore the virus
    SLAPPA Phenom II AM3 Overclocking Essentials
    I HAVE HIGHEST OC ON TECHJA 4.2ghz
    4890oc beats gtx 285
    PS3 FAILCAKE
    ps3 only advantage is bluray
    4890 oc roundup
    http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/0/skugpezz.png
    Mi know dem fear mi!!!!! Gigabyte 790x ud4p
    phenom 2 955@3.8ghz 24/7 stable , 4GB ddr3 1333@1.5ghz ,3850 256MB (temp card) (4890 soon),700 watt dual rail psu, (overclocking rules) my avatar represents my personality

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    3,959
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Were you able to resolve this?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •