Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cisco Certs? Or Nah?

Yung_Jah Guest

Default Cisco Certs? Or Nah?

I am on the map to obtaining my first certification. I want to know for sure if CCNA really requires that one do a lab exam?

To give a rundown of the most current situation, I have a BSc in Computer Information Science and 2 years of experience working with computers at a PC store.

Should I still pursue A+? If not, what can you recommend that I do from home in preparation for an exam?

In my experience most companies do not need a CCNA. Mostly the financial institutions and larger organizations with multiple locations. The majority of the available jobs are in family owned companies with 50 to 100 employees. They need a full time or part time network administrator.

I would recommend getting the basic A+ and Microsoft certifications first. After that, do a CCNA to make yourself more competitive. I have seen too many CCNA people on this forum complain because they cannot leverage the certification.

It is just basic supply and demand.

Personally. I'd say only get Cisco certification if that's where you want to go or if the place you're working at (or plan to work at) needs it.
    Knowing the solution doesn't mean knowing the method. Yet answering correctly and regurgitation are considered "learning" and "knowledge".

Yung_Jah Guest

Quote Originally Posted by jamrock View Post
    In my experience most companies do not need a CCNA. Mostly the financial institutions and larger organizations with multiple locations. The majority of the available jobs are in family owned companies with 50 to 100 employees. They need a full time or part time network administrator.

I would recommend getting the basic A+ and Microsoft certifications first. After that, do a CCNA to make yourself more competitive. I have seen too many CCNA people on this forum complain because they cannot leverage the certification.

It is just basic supply and demand.
    Thanks for the suggestion.