Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Microsoft Vs CISCO networks

Default Microsoft Vs CISCO networks

Whats the difference between CISCO networks and Microsoft Networks?

Default Re:Microsoft Vs CISCO networks

I'm not a networking expert, but that question is like asking the difference between chalk and cheese.

As I understand it, and I may be corrected, CISCO is predominantly a networking hardware developer while Microsoft has networking software products in its cadre of products.

you're probably talking about reliability. As far as I know, both of them use TCP/IP.

There are so many differences.
    MS networks vs. CISCO networks could be related to hardware, network design, protocols used, security, etc. etc.

Cisco networks typically use switches, routers, breaking up broadcast or collision domains respectively, and VLANs for creating more efficient subnetted networks. The protocols used in a CISCO network all depends on the services you'd like for your network. Then in the OSI archtecture the CISCO network only applies to a few of the layers (Four - Physical, Data Link, Networking, and Transport).

The main association of a CISCO network would be for the creation, mangement, security & administration of routed & switched networks using CISCO routers.

Microsoft networks use a host of services and protocols. It also transcends the entire OSI structure. While a MS network can do software routing. MS networks are commonly associated with LANs, and often require 3rd party solutions for security.

I see Ebony......

Indeed chalk and Cheese.

Are you then saying that CISCO networks don't necessarily require third party solutions?

Microsoft networks normally refers to the operating systems that are loaded on the computers. You can have a Microsoft network, a Linux network, a Novell network, a Mac network or a combination of these.