Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learn current HTML or HTML5?

Default Learn current HTML or HTML5?

I'm an MIS student and this semester we'll be doing web application. I'm not sure of the content but I'd like to get a head start. Thinking of going through some html tutorials but i realize that i'm seeing 2 sets of tutorials html and html5.

Does it matter which one i learn? Is there a big difference between the 2? If i start learning one is there any difficulty transitioning to the other?
    To find what you seek in the road of life, the best proverb of all is that which says: "Leave no stone unturned." Edward Bulwer Lytton

If you know HTML5, you know HTML4 because its a draft currently but most of the coding are backwards compatible with HTML4.
    Its best to learn HTML4 first, get use to it and familiarize yourself with it and then move on to HTML5 which is a little more advance. HTML5 is the future so get with it.Microsoft giving until 2014/2015 for all web programmers to move up to HTML5 as it will be a standardize then

Yeah, as Dre said, learn HTML (which is HTML 4) then learn HTML5. HTML 5 is the newer version that is gaining mainstream support in most of the popular browsers. But HTML 4 is supported by all browsers. So get the ground work on the language by learning HTML then it will be easier to learn the changes in HTML 5.

As you probably have searched and found already, W3Schools is one of the better programming sites to learn various languages, including HTML.
    http://www.w3schools.com/default.asp

It's been my main site of resource when I need it.
    "The best software is the one that fits your needs." - A_A

Virus free since: date unknown
    Anti-virus free since: August 2008