Thread: Why Frameworks Suck

Default Why Frameworks Suck

Frameworks are what they are, they will save you a lot of time when deadlines are tight and give you tons of free code and documentation to read. But as in everything there are disadvantages and advantages which is why you are reading this article today. This article seeks to outline some of the pitfalls of frameworks in general. It touches a little on programming paradigms which are frameworks but they are all children of the same mother. This article is aimed at the experienced programmer, if you are a noob you will not know half of the things I talk about here so this article will be of no use to you.

....full article

TwistedPair Guest

I hear what your saying, but frameworks have made my life a lot easier, I work as a sys admin a small company and when I started here I was called upon to write an intranet website replete with all kinds of modules such as fax management, file repositories etc. etc. I would have thrown up my hands if didn't find most of the tools I needed already built into the framework. On the matter of efficency, i'm in the camp that says that servers are so fast now that code efficency between 500 lines and 1000 isn't really discernible to the end user. The only guys I know who can really can argue otherwise are the mega sites like youtube Facebook and Google where they even consider mysql to be a bottleneck . with regards to obsolescence I have been using the .net framework since version 1 can't say any of my code has died since 2.0 and that's been quite a while.