PDA

View Full Version : Enable SLI with different cards



newtothis
January 25, 2012, 04:57 PM
Follow the link
techpowerup.com (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=158907)

Seems to only works on GPU's with the same core design.

Flexx17
January 25, 2012, 05:39 PM
i could have sworn this was out long time ...back when i had my gts250 in the installation there was mention of using 2 different cards in sli.....whereas one would be used to process only PhysX for example (normally the slower card) and the other( the faster card) used to process everything else...how is that any different?

MaxFactor1
January 25, 2012, 05:50 PM
look on his name >>> newtothis...

Flexx17
January 25, 2012, 05:55 PM
look on his name >>> newtothis...

lol guess that confirms my post.....MAx remind me of the name of it again

newtothis
January 25, 2012, 06:07 PM
Read the thread that I link first instead of insulting me Max/flexx , this is entirely different from using one card as Physx.

Flexx17
January 25, 2012, 06:14 PM
i read it....some dude modded an SLI driver he not even sure the mix of cards that it supports.....and how is it different.....u expect a 9800GTX to run alongside a GTX590?

newtothis
January 25, 2012, 06:20 PM
And I guess you miss where the one guy stated that he Sli a gtx570+gtx580 and got a higher score in 3dmark11, and others stated that he scored similiar to running 2 gtx570s.

Flexx17
January 25, 2012, 06:27 PM
well good 4 u guys finally catching up.....while the boys in red been doing this for years now

newtothis
January 25, 2012, 06:30 PM
And to Max, I always thought your philosophy was reading is essential, you didn't even read the thread, just decided to insult me because of my user name.

@flexx
your right there, this seems to be similar to what you could always do using different ati cards.

zerodeth
January 26, 2012, 07:34 AM
so what is the practical aspect of this, its a modded driver so issues can arise, newer games might not be supported especially if they needed a driver update to work, DX11 might not work if the card is older and I prefer to see some real world data as opposed to 3Dmark scores so if you have some video with testing them in a game that would be great

pezz
January 26, 2012, 11:03 AM
What is new about this?

This is legit from Amd since radeon 4000 series.